Brooklyn Bound & Sō Laboratories

The loft scene is alive!

Now in its tenth year, Brooklyn Bound is a popular series of concerts at Sō’s working studio in the Navy Yard section of Brooklyn. Casual and intimate, the concerts feature us trying out new material and a broad range of artists whom we invite to perform.

Many of our artists have been featured on the Brooklyn Bound Podcast! Check it out below on this page. Each batch of new episodes appears in the youtube playlist, which you can search on the upper right hand corner of the embedded video.

If you are coming to any of our shows, we are located at 20 Grand Ave. #205 in Brooklyn, across from the Brooklyn Navy Yard. Concerts are free, and we sell beverages and take donations for the artists.

Brooklyn Bound is supported, in part, by public funds from the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs in partnership with the City Council.

Interested in performing on Brooklyn Bound? Apply Here

Visiting our studio?  Click here to view how to access our space!

Accessibility: our studio is on the second floor of a loft building in Brooklyn. Parking is usually available about a block away under the BQE and on parallel side streets in the evenings. Entry to #205 is via a buzzer which is about 6 feet off the ground (please reach out ahead of time and we can provide you with a number to text for entry). After a small ramp into the doorway, an elevator to the second floor is available on the left. From there, there is a long hallway leading to our studio at #205. We have one all-gender bathroom which we are in the process of making accessible.

If you would like to attend an event at our studio and you require any accommodations, please don’t hesitate to contact us ahead of time! Email

The Brooklyn Bound Podcast

with Jason Treuting

navigate the playlist by clicking in the upper right-hand corner of the video

2022-2023 Artists

Brian Ellis & Brooklyn Motion Capture Dance Ensemble
Michael J. Love
Paul Pinto

Olivier Tarpaga & Afrobeat Band

Andrea Mazzariello
Sō Percussion

Bergamot Quartet
Darian Donovan Thomas
Sō Percussion

Soo Yeon Lyuh
Bora Yoon
Sō Percussion

Upcoming Shows

Thursday, May 25 @ 20 Grand
Sō Laboratories: Curated by McKenzie Squires

Featuring folx Percussion joined by Shelby Blezinger-MCcay, Sachi Gullbrants, Pei Hsien Lu & Abigail Rodriguez.

folx Percussion is a percussion group created by its founders Kendall Rhymer and McKenzie Squires. Their mission is to create a safe and positive environment for an all female and non-binary percussionist group where its members are free to create music and explore the unconventional.

Our goal is to create an environment through percussion performance that is conscious of percussionists impact on the physical, emotional, and social world around us. 

folx is plural, pronounced like “folks”

Kendall (she/they) and McKenzie (they/she) met during their undergraduate studies where they worked with Adam Groh and Diana Loomer at Western Carolina University. Their love for performing in percussion ensembles and chamber groups started during the pandemic when they attended Sō Percussion’s Summer Institute via zoom. Here they found an environment that allowed them to express themselves how they wanted to without judgment. This environment fostered conversations about what it is like to be a womxn in the percussion field. After SōSI, the idea that they should take their passion and love for playing with one another and create a space for people like them to do the same originated. 

We took our time during the pandemic and our first year of graduate school in different parts of the US to create and brainstorm what folx Percussion would look like. Now we are ready to introduce folx to the world. Our goal is to create an environment through percussion performance that is conscious of percussionists impact on the physical, emotional, and social world around us. 

The name folx Percussion was the result of a brainstorming session at the beginning of the Covid-19 Pandemic in 2020 before the term folx became a popular label used for inclusivity of all kinds of people. Folks is a phrase used daily for both Kendall and McKenzie because of their roots in the Appalachian mountains of North Carolina. The ‘x’ at the end was meant as a call-back to their many conversations about founding a percussion duo over moonshine- a staple drink in NC commonly represented through images of an ‘x’. It is a happy accident that we chose to spell folks with an x instead of a ‘ks’ and that this term has come to embody what we want our ensemble to embody.

Learn more about folx here.


Please email Kelly Watkins for more information.


Click here for Studio Tech Specs

IMG_0613 IMG_0612 IMG_0611 IMG_0610 IMG_0609 IMG_0608 IMG_0607 IMG_0606 IMG_0604 IMG_0603 IMG_0602 IMG_0601 IMG_0600 IMG_0599 IMG_0598 IMG_0596 IMG_0595 IMG_0594
"There Might Be Others" by Dan Trueman and Rebecca Lazier

Previous Performers on Brooklyn Bound:

Aaron Edgecomb
Alex Appel
Alex Dowling
Angelica Negron
Anna Wray

Annika Socolofsky
Arx Duo
Ashley Fure
Aynsley Vandenbroucke
Bergamot Quartet
Bora Yoon
Caroline Shaw
Cenk Ergun

Cisum Percussion
Charmaine Lee
Clara Warnaar

Dan Trueman
David Degge

Dither Quartet
Echo Artifact

Emily Johnson

Emma O’Halloran
Empyrean Atlas
ensemble, et al

Evan Chapman
Excelsis Percussion

Forever House
Iktus Percussion

Jason Treuting
Jeff Snyder
Jenny Beck
Jeremy Malvin

Ji-Hye Jung

Joy on Fire
Kaoru Watanabe
Kendall Williams
Kid Millions

Lainie Fefferman

Leah Asher

Long Leash

Lucy Dhegrae
Mantra Percussion

Matt Evans
Matt Overbay
Mike Marcinowski
Mobius Percussion



Palladium Percussion

Pascal Le Beouf

Petra Elek
Princeton Laptop Orchestra (PLOrk)

Rachel Sigrid Freeburg
Russell Fisher
Sandbox Percussion
Sirius String Quartet
Square Peg Round Hole

SR9 Trio

TAK Ensemble

Tanner Porter

Travis LaPlante
Ursula Eagly

Previous Brooklyn Bound Podcast episodes:

1 – Damsel

2 – Ande (Andrea Tafelski)

3 – Matt Evans

4 – Bergamot Quartet with Terry Sweeney

5 – Mike Marcinowski and Rachel Sigrid Freeburg Duo 

6 – SPECIAL PODCAST with Joan Tower

7 – Aynsely Vandenbroucke

8 – Aaron Edgcomb 

9 – Jenny Beck

10 – Lainie Fefferman

11 – Russell Fisher of MoRF percussion duo