Our Supporters

As a 501c3 nonprofit, Sō Percussion is deeply committed to redefining the scope and role of contemporary chamber music through collaboration, community, and creativity. Whether we’re premiering a brand-new percussion quartet at Carnegie Hall, training students at our Summer Institute in Princeton, or performing alongside emerging artists at our Brooklyn studio, our work is driven by an ethos of both playfulness and thoughtfulness, and we seek to infuse this mindset into the classical music field more broadly. 

Our work is supported by a range of generous foundations, government organizations, and corporations, who we gratefully acknowledge below. We also work extensively with individual donors through our Producing Circle, which supports both our Summer Institute and our New Work Development Program. To learn more about joining the Producing Circle, please contact Development Director Julia Bumke at julia@sopercussion.com.

Sō Percussion’s 2019-2020 Season is Generously Supported by:

The National Endowment for the Arts, Art Works
The New York City Department of Cultural Affairs
The New York State Council on the Arts 
with the support of Governor Andrew M. Cuomo and the New York State Legislature
The Alice M. Ditson Fund of Columbia University
The Aaron Copland Fund for Ensembles
The Amphion Foundation
The Brookby Foundation
The Fan Fox and Leslie R. Samuels Foundation, Inc.
The Howard Gilman Foundation

New Music USA Impact Fund

Sō Percussion’s performances in Cork, Ireland and Athens, Greece were supported by the Mid Atlantic Arts Foundation, USArtists International program. USArtists International is made possible through support from the National Endowment for the Arts and the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation. Additional support for artists in New York City is provided by the Howard Gilman Foundation.

Support through New Music USA’s NYC New Music Impact Fund is made possible with funding from The Scherman Foundation’s Katharine S. and Axel G. Rosin Fund.

Sō Percussion’s performances in Vilnius, Lithuania were supported by Mid Atlantic Arts Foundation through USArtists International in partnership with the National Endowment for the Arts and the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.

Recordings of the projects ‘Shara Nova: Timeline’ and ‘From Out a Darker Sea’ have both been funded by project grants from New Music USA.  Recording of ‘Tristan Perich: Sequential’ has been funded by a grant from the Aaron Copland Fund Recording Program

Sō Percussion has also recently received support from:

Materials for the Arts
The Trust for Mutual Understanding
National Performance Network
The American Music Project
Jarvis and Constance Doctorow Family Foundation
The ASCAP Foundation
The Composers Guild of New Jersey
The New York State Regional Economic Development Council


And Sō Percussion performs on instruments from:

Zildjian Cymbals
Vic Firth Sticks and Mallets
Pearl Drums / Adams Musical Instruments
Black Swamp Accessories
Remo Drumheads
Estey Organs
Kyle Dunleavy Steel Drums

FileItem-127656-DCA1400f2fa4dcb87ada-NEA-logo-colorNYSCA Logo - Blackd054d1ceba3ea899-MAAF_new_logo_color .            BARREL_NewMusicUSA_logo-rainbow 069ebb96b4320946-KyleDunleavy_web           6704e39721eb49de-MAPlogo